Conference Homepage

Please visit our virtual conference program webpage for up-to-date information.


In light of recent policy developments and SAS’s commitment to public health practices, the Executive Committee and management of the Society have decided to cancel the in-person annual meeting of SAS, which was scheduled for April 23-25, 2020, in San Francisco. The pre-conferences have also been cancelled. 

We are currently exploring alternative ways to deliver some of the ideas and findings represented in the conference program so as to continue to promote scientific exchange and advancement in the affective sciences.

In the meantime, you should cancel your travel tickets and hotel reservations. Fortunately, the Parc 55 Hotel has agreed to allow SAS to cancel the hotel contract and room block without penalty. We will be setting up a procedure soon to refund conference and pre-conference registration fees to everyone who has already paid. 

We greatly regret the loss of an exciting opportunity to exchange ideas in person but look forward to next year’s meeting and to other opportunities for interactions among SAS members.


Paula Niedenthal, President
Barbara Fredrickson, President-Elect
Bob Levenson, Past-President
Board of Directors

Presidential Symposium

<a href="" target="_blank">Paula Niedenthal</a>

Paula Niedenthal

President, Society for Affective Science


<a href="" target="_blank">Morteza Dehghani</a>

Morteza Dehghani

University of Southern California

Bound in Hatred: The Role of Group-Based Morality in Acts of Hate

<a href="" target="_blank">Nathan Kalmoe</a>

Nathan Kalmoe

Louisiana State University

The Role of Emotion in Violent American Partisanship

<a href="" target="_blank">Robb Willer</a>

Robb Willer

Stanford University

From Gulf to Bridge: Moral Reframing of Issues and Candidates Facilitates Political Persuasion

TED-Style Talks

<a href=""target="_blank">Elaine Fox</a>

Elaine Fox

University of Oxford


<a href=""target="_blank">Wendy Berry Mendes</a>

Wendy Berry Mendes



<a href=""target="_blank">Pamela Cole</a>

Pamela Cole

Penn State University
<a href=" "target="_blank">Lasana Harris</a>

Lasana Harris

University College London
<a href="" target="_blank">Dacher Keltner</a>

Dacher Keltner

UC Berkeley
<a href="" target="_blank">Kristin Lagattuta</a>

Kristin Lagattuta

UC Davis
<a href="" target="_blank">Matthew Nock</a>

Matthew Nock

Harvard University
<a href="" target="_blank">Jamil Zaki</a>

Jamil Zaki

Stanford University

Invited Flash Talks

<a href="" target="_blank">Kateri McRae</a>

Kateri McRae

University of Denver


<a href="" target="_blank">James Cavanagh</a>

James Cavanagh

University of New Mexico
<a href="" target="_blank">Aaron Heller</a>

Aaron Heller

University of Miami
<a href="" target="_blank">Lori Hoggard</a>

Lori Hoggard

Rutgers University - New Brunswick
<a href="" target="_blank">Jessica Lougheed</a>

Jessica Lougheed

Purdue University
<a href="" target="_blank">Emily Mower Provost</a>

Emily Mower Provost

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
<a href="" target="_blank">Nilam Ram</a>

Nilam Ram

Penn State University
<a href="" target="_blank">Gal Sheppes</a>

Gal Sheppes

Tel Aviv University
<a href="" target="_blank">Yukiko Uchida</a>

Yukiko Uchida

Kyoto University