2020 SAS Annual Conference Virtual Program

Past Virtual Events

Thursday, May 28, 2020

2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. CT / 11:00 a.m. PT

Salon: Effective Affective Science Communication

Joseph Fridman, Northeastern University
Indre Viskontas, University of San Francisco and San Francisco Conservatory of Music
Dave Nussbaum, University of Chicago

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

5:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. CT / 2:00 p.m. PT

Salon: Open Science

Simine Vazire, University of California, Davis
John Flournoy, Harvard University
Heather L. Urry, Tufts University

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. CT / 11:00 a.m. PT

Methods Event: Emotion Text Analysis Using Natural Language Processing

Samira Shaikh, University of North Carolina, Charlotte

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

5:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. CT / 2:00 p.m. PT

Methods Event: Experience Sampling Methods in Affective Science

Tamlin Conner, University of Otago, New Zealand

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. CT / 11:00 a.m. PT

Salon: Business School

Dana Carney, University of California, Berkeley
Hillary Anger Elfenbein, Washington University, St. Louis

Thursday, May 7, 2020

12:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. CT / 9:00 a.m. PT

Salon: Careers in Industry

Jason Buhle, AnswerLab
Emily Hittner, Hinge

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

1:00 p.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. CT / 10:00 a.m. PT

Salon: Ask a Program Officer

Rebecca Ferrer, National Institutes of Health

Friday, April 24, 2020

1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. EDT

Presidential Symposium
Moderator: Paula Niedenthal, SAS President

  • 1:00-1:05 pm – Paula Niedenthal, Introduction
  • 1:05-1:15 pm – Paula Niedenthal, “A Test of the Rural Resentment Hypothesis‚ÄĚ
  • 1:15-1:30 pm – Morteza Dehghani, “Bound in Hatred: The Role of Group-Based Morality in Acts of Hate”
  • 1:30-1:45 pm – Nathan Kalmoe, “The Role of Emotion in Violent American Partisanship”
  • 1:45-2:00 pm – Robb Willer, “From Gulf to Bridge: Moral Reframing of Issues and Candidates Facilitates Political Persuasion”
  • 2:00-2:30 pm – Moderated Live Discussion (attendee questions welcome and encouraged)
<a href="https://www.niedenthalemotionslab.com/" target="_blank">Paula Niedenthal</a>

Paula Niedenthal

President, Society for Affective Science
<a href="https://dornsife.usc.edu/labs/cssl/" target="_blank">Morteza Dehghani</a>

Morteza Dehghani

University of Southern California
<a href="https://nathankalmoe.com/" target="_blank">Nathan Kalmoe</a>

Nathan Kalmoe

Louisiana State University
<a href="https://www.robbwiller.org/" target="_blank">Robb Willer</a>

Robb Willer

Stanford University

2:30 p.m.-3:00 p.m. EDT

Important Announcements from the SAS President, Paula Niedenthal

  • This year and next year’s conference
  • Society’s new journal,¬†Affective Science¬†[link]
  • Passing of the gavel to incoming SAS President, Barbara Fredrickson
<a href="http://peplab.web.unc.edu/" target="_blank">Barbara Fredrickson</a>

Barbara Fredrickson

Incoming President, Society for Affective Science

3:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. EDT

Salon: Ask-an-Editor

  • Featuring the Editors-in-Chief of¬†Affective Science [link]
<a href="https://spl.stanford.edu/" target="_blank">James Gross</a>

James Gross

Editor-in-Chief, Affective Science
<a href="https://psychology.berkeley.edu/people/robert-w-levenson/" target="_blank">Robert W. Levenson</a>

Robert W. Levenson

Editor-in-Chief, Affective Science
<a href="https://www.wendyberrymendes.com/" target="_blank">Wendy Berry Mendes</a>

Wendy Berry Mendes

Editor-in-Chief, Affective Science

More information about Posters, Spotlights, Salons, and Methods Events will be updated on this page.