Invited Flash Talks

Spotlight on leading affective scientists and their seminal works, followed by open audience Q&A.   

Clicking on each speaker’s name will take you to their personal websites.

<a href="https://people.socsci.tau.ac.il/mu/galsheppes/" target="_blank">Gal Sheppes</a>

Gal Sheppes

Tel Aviv University, Israel

Transcending the "Good & Bad" and "Here & Now" in emotion regulation

<a href="https://culture-wellbeing.kokoro.kyoto-u.ac.jp/lab/" target="_blank">Yukiko Uchida</a>

Yukiko Uchida

Kyoto University, Japan

Threat based awe induces meaning making process and interdependently oriented happiness

<a href="https://comm.stanford.edu/faculty-ram/" target="_blank">Nilam Ram</a>

Nilam Ram

Stanford University, USA

The Human Screenome Project and the emotional dynamics of individuals’ everyday digital lives

<a href="http://www.manateelab.org/" target="_blank">Aaron Heller</a>

Aaron Heller

University of Miami, USA

Computational modeling of personally meaningful events to determine the drivers of human emotion

<a href="https://sites.google.com/site/crclunm/" target="_blank">James Cavanagh</a>

James Cavanagh

University of New Mexico, USA

Best experiment ever! Puppies, milkshakes, and the neurobiology of anhedonia

<a href="https://jplougheed.com/" target="_blank">Jessica Lougheed</a>

Jessica Lougheed

University of British Columbia Okanagan, Canada

Emotion dynamics in parent-adolescent dyads

<a href="http://web.eecs.umich.edu/~emilykmp/chai/" target="_blank">Emily Mower Provost</a>

Emily Mower Provost

University of Michigan, USA

Human-centered computing: Using speech to understand behavior

<a href="https://www.nshushi-s-e.com/" target="_blank">Shushi Namba</a>

Shushi Namba

RIKEN, Japan

The facial dynamics of genuine and deliberate surprise

<a href="https://www.vumc.org/psychiatry/person/sharee-n-light-phd">Sharee Light</a>

Sharee Light

Vanderbilt University Medical Center, USA

The neuropsychological correlates of empathy

Shushi Namba: Wednesday, April 14th, 2021; 1:15pm – 1:35pm JST (4:15am – 4:35am UTC)

Yukiko Uchida: Wednesday, April 14th, 2021; 1:35pm – 1:55pm JST (4:35am – 4:55am UTC)

Gal Sheppes: Wednesday, April 14th, 2021; 1:55pm – 2:15pm JST (4:55am – 5:15am UTC)

Aaron Heller: Friday, April 16th, 2021; 1:15pm – 1:35pm BST (12:15pm – 12:35pm UTC)

Emily Mower Provost: Friday, April 16th, 2021; 1:35pm – 1:55pm BST (12:35pm – 12:55pm UTC)

Nilam Ram: Friday, April 16th, 2021; 1:55pm – 2:15pm BST (12:55pm – 1:15pm UTC)

James Cavanagh: Friday, April 16th, 2021; 1:15pm – 1:35pm PDT (8:15pm – 8:35pm UTC)

Jessica Lougheed: Friday, April 16th, 2021; 1:35pm – 1:55pm PDT (8:35pm – 8:55pm UTC)

Sharee Light: Friday, April 16th, 2021; 1:55pm – 2:15pm PDT (8:55pm – 9:15pm UTC)

*All pre-recorded talks will be available for 24h on demand viewing in the Video Lounge