Preconferences

We are excited to announce that there will be two pre-conferences affiliated with the 2021 SAS conference! Both will be held in Gather.Town hosted by Virtual Chair.

Both pre-conferences are accepting submissions (see below for details). You can submit to ONE pre-conference only in addition to the main 2021 SAS conference.

For general inquiries about the preconferences, please contact Ajay Satpute at a.satpute@northeastern.edu and Aaron Heller at aheller@miami.edu.

The Role of Emotions in Intergroup Conflict

Sa-kiera Hudson

Sa-kiera Hudson

Yale University, USA

Organizer: Sa-kiera Hudson (Yale University)

Date: Tuesday, April 13th, 2021

Time: 10:45am – 5:30pm EDT (2:45pm – 9:30pm UTC)

Details: The “Role of Emotions in Intergroup Conflict” Preconference at the 2021 Society of Affective Science (SAS) convention includes an impressive line-up of speakers who will discuss current research and topics surrounding the antecedents and consequences of intergroup emotions. The pre-conference will also feature four 15-minute synchronous “flash talks” that highlight the cutting-edge research of postdoctoral scholars and advanced graduate students working on this topic.

You can submit your abstracts here which will include a single page summary of your work (submission deadline: February 15th, 2021, at 11:59pm Baker Island Time (BIT; UTC-12 ‚Äď last time zone on earth)). We especially encourage advanced graduate students and postdocs from historically minoritized groups to apply!

Virtual Welcome and Brunch Hour

10:45-11:30am EDT

  • People randomly assigned to tables based on pre-registration information to mingle and say ‚Äúhi‚ÄĚ
  • 15-minute conference introduction and breakdown of the day‚Äôs events.

Part 1: Emotional Antecedents of Conflict

11:30am-1:00pm EDT

  • 1.5 hour discussion with the presenters in which they will give a 5 min overview of their talk (take-away message) and open it up for Q and A with the audience. They will also be encouraged to discuss and talk amongst themselves in a blended panel discussion/Q and A style talk.

Break (Long)

1:00-2:00pm EDT

Part 2: Flash Talks

2:00-3:30pm EDT

  • Four 15 min flash talks with five min for questions

Break (Short)

3:30-4:00pm EDT

Part 3: Emotional Strategies and Interventions to Attenuate Conflict

4:00-5:30pm EDT

  • 5 hour discussion with the presenters in which they will give a 5 min overview of their talk (take-away message) and open it up for Q and A with the audience. They will also be encouraged to discuss and talk amongst themselves in a blended panel discussion/Q and A style talk.

Closing Remarks 

5:30-5:40pm EDT

Opening Affective Science at #2021SAS

Heather Urry

Heather Urry

Tufts University, USA
Sam Parsons

Sam Parsons

University of Oxford, UK

Organizers: Heather Urry (Tufts University) and Sam Parsons (University of Oxford)

Date: Tuesday, April 13th, 2021

Time: 9:00am – 3:00pm EDT (1:00pm – 7:00pm UTC)

Details: How can we maximize the credibility of claims in affective science? Transparent, open research by a diverse community of scholars is the key. The ‚ÄúOpening Affective Science‚ÄĚ preconference will support transparency, openness, and diversity at SAS with a set of talks, a poster session, and a hackathon. Collectively we aim to showcase examples of diverse, open affective science, spark ideas for incorporating open practices into your research, and foster understanding of the bidirectional benefits of diversity and openness in our field.

We invite attendees, especially early career researchers, to present planned or completed empirical affective science. In particular, we are seeking submissions that include some open research practices (e.g. open data or materials, preregistration of analyses) or have a focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion (or both!). The submission survey will first request the submitter’s name, email address, career stage, and whether they identify as a member of a group that is underrepresented in science. It will then display three text boxes, each limited to 1000 characters, asking them to describe the a) Introduction and Methods, b) Results and Conclusions, and c) Open Research Practices and/or relevance to issues of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. When submitting planned work, please use the ‘Results and Conclusions’ box to describe the expected results. The submitter will also have the opportunity to provide info for up to 7 additional authors. (If there are more than 7 additional authors, please email¬†sam.parsons@psy.ox.ac.uk.) We will evaluate¬†submissions using a results-blinded process, and prioritize accepting work conducted by members of underrepresented groups using rigorous methods and open practices.¬†Submissions will be evaluated on a rolling basis starting February 15, 2021 until all spaces have been filled. Submit your abstract here.¬†¬†

Welcome and Orientation 

9:00-9:30am EDT (2:00-2:30pm UK)

  • Sam Parsons and Heather Urry. Welcome, introduction scavenger hunt, orientation to the day‚Äôs events.

Diverse, Open Affective Science: Application and Advice

9:30-11:00am EDT (2:30-4:00pm UK)

  • The Valence-Dominance Model of Face Perception: A World Tour¬†
    • Benedict Jones, University of Strathclyde. Jones will share their global work on face perception with the Psychological Science Accelerator, which illustrates multi-lab science, open data, materials, and code, CRediT contributorship, and registered report publication.
  • Easing into Open Science
    • Priya Silverstein, Data-PASS Journal Editors Discussion Interface. Silverstein will suggest several ways that early career researchers and their advisors can incorporate open science practices into their affective science.
  • Inclusive Science: Why Your Research is Better if Everyone is Welcome
    • Cassandra Gould van Praag, University of Oxford. Gould van Praag will discuss why research may be more robust if it is inclusive, and consider the impact of poor inclusivity on the individual and field as a whole.

Break (Short)

11:00-11:15am EDT (4:00-4:15pm UK)

Poster Session 

11:15am-12:15pm EDT (4:15-5:15pm UK)

  • This session will feature planned or completed empirical affective science primarily by early career researchers. We‚Äôll prioritize accepting work conducted by members of underrepresented groups using rigorous methods and open practices.

Break (Long)

12:15-1:00pm EDT (5:15-6:00pm UK)

Diversity ⇆  Openness: Theory and Practice

1:00-3:00pm EDT (6:00-8:00pm UK)

  • Cultural Psychology, Diversity, and Representation in Open Science
    • Moin Syed and Ummul-Kiram Kathawalla, University of Minnesota. Syed and Kathawalla will argue that studying affect across cultures would both offer benefits to and benefit from open science.
  • Diversifying SAS Hackathon
    • Heather Urry, Tufts University, and Lani Shiota, Arizona State University. In support of SAS‚Äôs values, participants will collaborate to generate strategies to attract and retain members of groups typically underrepresented in science to SAS.

Adjourn 

3:00pm EDT (8:00pm UK)