Society Leadership

Elaine Fox, President [website]

Barbara Fredrickson, Past President [website]

Maya Tamir, President Elect [website]

Christopher Oveis, Treasurer Elect [website]

Maital Neta, Member at Large [website]

Michelle “Lani” Shiota, Member at Large [website]

Christian Waugh, Member at Large [website]

Maria Gendron, 2022 Conference Program Co-Chair [website]

Stephanie Carpenter, 2022 Conference Program Co-Chair [website]

Co-Chair: Maria Gendron, 2022 Conference Program Co-Chair [website]

Co-Chair: Stephanie Carpenter, 2022 Conference Program Co-Chair [website]

Shir Atzil, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Katherine Aumer, University of Hawaii, West Oahu

Andy Chen, National Taiwan University

Elizabeth da Silva, Indiana University—Purdue University Columbus

Jonas Everaert, Tilburg University

Katie Greenaway, University of Melbourne

Sara Levens, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Catherine Ortner, Thompson Rivers University

Andrea Samson, University of Geneva

Jennifer Silvers, University of California, Los Angeles

Adrienne Wood, University of Virginia

Hongbo Yu, University of California, Santa Barbara

Past Chair: Rachael Jack, University of Glasgow

Co-Chair: Aaron Heller, University of Miami [email]

Co-Chair: Erik Nook, Yale University [email]

Past Chair: Ajay Satpute, Northeastern University

Chair: Barbara Fredrickson [email]

Co-Chair: Nicole Giuliani, University of Oregon [email]

Co-Chair: Luis Flores, Queen’s University [email]

Jennifer Silvers, University of California Los Angeles

Past-Chair: Hedy Kober, Yale University

Co-Chair: Nicole Roberts, Arizona State University [email]

Co-Chair: Stephanie Carpenter, University of Michigan [email]

Anthony Atkinson, Durham University

Jess Datu, Education University of Hong Kong

Lameese Eldesouky, The American University in Cairo

Katie Greenaway, University of Melbourne

Katie Hoemann, KU Leuven

Sara Levens, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Steven Most, University of New South Wales, Sydney

Magdalena Rychlowska, Queen’s University Belfast

Kaitlyn Werner, University of Pennsylvania

Jolie Wormwood, University of New Hampshire

Chair: Carien van Reekum, University of Reading [email]

Jonathan Gratch, University of Southern California

Luke Chang, Dartmouth College

Yulia Chentsova-Dutton, Georgetown University

Past Chair: Barbara L. Fredrickson, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Co-Chair: Jasmine Mote, Tufts University [email]

Co-Chair: Jennifer MacCormack, University of Pittsburgh [email]

Elise Kalokerinos, University of Melbourne

Rachel Aaron, Johns Hopkins University

Jenna Gilchrist, University of Waterloo

Sarah Pressman, University of California, Irvine

Oriana Aragón, Clemson University

Monica Perusquia-Hernandez, University of Essex

Sarah Sperry, University of Michigan

Past Chair: Eliza Bliss-Moreau, University of California, Davis

Chair: Jeffrey Girard, University of Kansas [email]

Augusta Gaspar, Faculty of Human Sciences, Universidade Catolica Portuguesa

Past Chair: M. Justin Kim, Sungkyunkwan University

Chair: Angela Smith, University of Toronto [email]

Past Chair: Olivia Zhao, University of Wisconsin-Madison

[Click here for more on SASSC Leadership]

Founders: Lisa Feldman Barrett and James Gross

Past Presidents:

2014: James Gross

2015: Lisa Feldman Barrett

2016: Wendy Berry Mendes

2017: Kevin Ochsner

2018: Ann Kring

2019: Robert Levenson

2020: Paula Niedenthal

2021: Barbara Fredrickson

The Society for Affective Science is looking for volunteers to serve on a SAS committee. Please consider volunteering and submit using this form, or by clicking the “Volunteer with SAS” menu on the left side of this page.