SAS Student Committee

Compared to faculty, students have unique needs as they develop academic expertise and learn to navigate their profession.  We support affective science students—from undergraduate through postdoctoral levels—by coordinating both social and professional initiatives for student members of SAS. For example:

  • Social events help students interact with other student members, both during the annual conference and more locally throughout the academic year.  For example, the SAS Student Social happens on the Thursday evening of the annual society meeting each year, to help kick off the conference and connect students with one another.
  • Professional opportunities such as assisting with the Society’s social media and diversity outreach, annual programming, and expert interviews allow student members to be recognized by and interact with faculty.
  • We are also committed to helping the Society better support trainees from a diversity of backgrounds, such as minority students, international students, and students from disciplines beyond psychology and neuroscience.


If you are a student member of SAS, please join our listserv and Facebook group to participate in student discussions and receive updates on student-specific events, initiatives, and opportunities.


If you are interested in volunteering with the student committee, please click to contact a member of the team below.

Student Committee

Much of the behind-the-scenes work in the SAS Student Committee is achieved through the coordinated efforts of students serving on the Executive Team or as Members-at-large.

Kyle Barrentine

Kyle Barrentine


University of Virginia

Eva Liu

Eva Liu


Yale University

Livia Sacchi

Livia Sacchi


University of Lausanne

Members at Large

Members-at-large provide additional input and support to the Executive Team while developing year-round student-centric programming.

Dasha Yermol
University of Wisconsin – Madison

Pooja Kulkarni

Amy Gregory
McGill University 

Natali Barragan
Arizona State University

Ellen Zheng
Arizona State University 

Victoria Hart-Derrick
Yale University

Jennifer Ouyang
University of Southern California


Past Chairs

Angela Smith, 2021-2022 Chair

Olivia Zhao, 2020-2021 Chair

Catie Brown, 2019-2020 Chair

Katie Hoemann, 2018-2019 Chair

Jennifer MacCormack, 2017-2018 Chair

Erik Nook, 2016-2017 Chair

Jasmine Mote, 2015-2016 Chair

Conference Awards

The SAS offers two types of awards for student members. Click to learn about our Conference Awards and the SAS Trainee Diversity Award.